A long winding road to success - Chapter 1

A long winding road to success - Chapter 1

The ordinary world

How it started

I was 10 when I first had access to a computer. Mind you, I wasn't eager to learn a new programming language but was only interested in playing a video game that captured my attention from the very beginning!

Prince of Persia. Very first one of the series! Although it was released many years before, After few minutes of gameplay, I was already falling in love with it!

Prince of Persia(1989) by Jordan Mechner

However, there was a problem. My dad. He wasn't ready to just let me game on all day. He said...

"You have 20 mins per day. You must finish all the school work and your mom should approve it!"

Hours of school work for mere 20 mins of play? Sounds totally fair right? So, I agreed to this "deal" and kept playing. My dad observed how I well I played the game, solved the puzzles and fought the enemies. He realized I was passionate about it so, he asked...

Would you like to learn how to make a game?

That sparked my curiosity! GW Basic. Yes, you probably never heard of that programming language. But that was the beginning of my long journey. We didn't have internet access but dad already had a collection of GW Basic books. With his help and the books, I kept learning until I solved the hardest challenge presented to me in a book: Programming a Rubik's cube!

My learning process

  • Taking notes

But let's talk about the learning process. Since I had no access to internet, I had to rely on the books and guidance of my dad. As much as I liked them, these books were thick as Persian carpets..

Prince of Persia 2008

..Or maybe several of them, but the point is, I had to take notes. So, I bought couple of notebooks, dedicated a one to each GW Basic book I referred. I made sure to include the page numbers alongside the notes, pointing to the pages of the book, In case if I had to re-visit it. Using highlighters of several colors really helped too! Each color represented the importance/priority of the highlighted text, therefore, when I had to skim through my notes, I knew what to proactively focus on. Last but not least, I used custom made bookmarks to quickly switch between sections.

Oh by the way, my handwriting was pretty great at that time! Totally readable too!

  • Flash cards and Sticky notes

One more thing. Flash cards and sticky notes! My mom taught me how to use them effectively, not only when learning GW Basic but for school work too. One of the books had bunch of questions at the end of each chapter and using flash cards to revisit them was highly effective. Sticky notes were more suited for syntax related reminders and tips as well as for scheduling coding times. Nowadays, there are online apps for flash cards and sticky notes but I'm humbly suggesting you to go old school on this and buy them from a stationary shop. You won't be able to experience that fresh earthy smell of new stationary if you choose an app!

Why I love this approach

In my honest opinion, if you're learning a new language, one of the best ways to lay a solid foundation to your learning process is to start taking short notes. Make sure to write them down in your own words instead of copying exact words from a book or a learning source but without trying to be a perfectionist. This forces you to ask the hard question from yourself...

Are you sure about what you're writing?

Flash cards and sticky notes are valuable tools even today. Flash cards are highly effective when you're revising questions and sticky notes are great at scheduling and quick syntax reminders. Who knows, maybe you have found better ways of using them! In that case, please share your thoughts in the comments below!

Up Next

Where did my path lead after learning GW Basic? How did I upgrade my learning skills? I invite you to read the next chapter: Call to adventure, when I finish writing it. Until then, stay strong, keep learning and never give up!

3077962486_25f42e0e5b.jpg

Image References:

Ubisoft Montreal., (2021) Prince of Persia 2008 - Playstation blog. [ONLINE]. Available at: flickr.com/photos/playstationblog/3077962486 [Accessed 29 July 2021].